Legends On Deck

2015 Caribbean Series Starts On Monday

The Caribbean Series, also known as the Caribbean World Series, will run from February 2-8, and include Puerto Rico, Mexico, Venezuela, the Dominican Republic and Cuba. Each country hosted its own league during the winter that consisted of teams from within the various cities and the champions were crowned and now will play in a tournament with the chance to be the kings of the Caribbean.

Cuba will be the only country that will actually send a roster heavily loaded with a mix of players from other teams around their leagues.

This season the series will be played in Puerto Rico with returning champion Mexico looking to repeat.

The five teams representing their countries are Pinar Del Rio of Cuba, Tomateros de Culiacan of Mexico, Caribes de Anzoategui of Venezuela, Gigantes de Cibao of Dominican Republic and Cangrejeros de Santurce of host country Puerto Rico.

Each team will play four games with the top four teams to battle in the semi-finals on February 6th.  The final will be played on February 8th, with the winners of the semi-final matches pairing up to see who will be crowned the winners of the series.


Full rosters have yet to be released, but it is rumored that the Philadelphia Phillies top prospect, 22-year old Maikel Franco will be on the Dominican Republic’s roster.

Franco tore through the Caribbean Winter League batting .272 with seven home runs and 29 RBI’s in 147 at bats. In 22 playoff games he batted .337 with four home runs, 16 RBI’s in 86 at bats, topped off going a 3 for 4, with two runs scored, two home runs and seven RBI’s to help the Gigantes de Cibao win the Dominican Winter League championship.

It will be great to see Franco showcasing his skills for the whole world to see.

Game Schedule:

February 2
Cuba v. Mexico 12:05 PM
Puerto Rico v. Venezuela 6:30 PM

February 3
Venezuela v. Dominican Republic 12:05 PM
Mexico v. Puerto Rico 6:30 PM

February 4
Dominican Republic v. Mexico 12:05 PM
Puerto Rico v. Cuba 6:30 PM

February 5
Venezuela v. Mexico 12:05 PM
Cuba v. Dominican Republic 6:30 PM

February 6
Cuba v. Venezuela 12:05 PM
Puerto Rico v. Dominican Republic 6:30 PM

February 7

February 8

(Photo courtesy of gigantessfm.com)

%d bloggers like this: