Legends On Deck

A Look Back At The 2014 MLB Awards

This past baseball season was full of many surprises, like the amazing run by the Kansas City Royals and the dominance of the San Francisco Giants, winning it all again. Below we look back at the players that took home the most prestigious awards for the 2014 season.

American League MVP

Mike TroutMike Trout
BA: .287
HR: 36
RBI: 111
OBP: .377
Los Angeles Angels of Aneheim

Mike Trout won his first ever regular season MVP award with an outstanding season. In 2014, Trout matched his career numbers with 39 doubles and nine triples, but he hit a career high 36 home runs and led the AL with 111 RBI’s. Trout also led the league in runs with 115 for the third straight season. He did bat under .300 for the first time in three seasons, but he made it up with his amazing power. Looking forward to seeing him continue to progress in 2015.


National League MVP

Clayton Kershawi (1)
W-L: 21-3
ERA: 1.77
SO: 239
WHIP: 0.86
Los Angeles Dodgers

Clayton Kershaw was the first pitcher since Bob Gibson in 1968, to win the MVP for the NL. Kershsaw had an amazing 2014 season as he led the majors with 21 wins, a 1.77 ERA and a career best six complete games. Actually, he has the lowest ERA in baseball for the last four seasons. In 2014, Kershaw gave up only 139 hits, the lowest since the 2009 season when he gave up 119 hits and allowed a career best 39 earned runs and 31 walks with an 0.86 WHIP. He is a modern day Legend on the mound.


American League Cy Young Winner

i (2)Corey Kluber
W-L: 18-9
ERA: 2.44
SO: 269
WHIP: 1.09
Cleveland Indians

Corey Kubler had a career year in 2014. He was first in the AL with 18 wins, second with 269 K’s and finished third in the league with a 2.44 ERA. Kubler, who made his major league debut in 2011, was 13 -10 the last two seasons before putting up career numbers in 2014 and solidifying himself as the ace of the staff.

National League Cy Young Winner

i (1)Clayton Kershaw
W-L: 21-3
ERA: 1.77
SO: 239
WHIP: 0.86
Los Angeles Dodgers

Clayton Kershaw has won this award three of the last four years and the scary part is that he is only getting better.  He is the youngest three-time winner in baseball history. Kershaw won 21 games in two of three seasons that he won the award, as he went, 21-5 (2011), 16-9 (2013) and 21-3 (2014). He also lowered his ERA each award winning season, 2.28 (2011), 1.83 (2013), and 1.77 (2014). Kershaw is only the eleventh pitcher in major league history to win both the MVP and Cy Young award in the same season. The last to do it was Justin Verlander in 2011.

American League Rookie of the Year

abreuJose Abreu
BA: .317
HR: 36
RBI: 107
OBP: .383
Chicago White Sox

Jose Abreu is the first Chicago White Sox player to win the Rookie of the Year award since Ozzie Guillen won it in 1985. Abreu finished fourth in the majors with his 36 home runs, fifth with 105 RBI’s, and first with a .581 Slug %. Since 2005, he played for the Cuban National team and never played an inning in the minors, but in 2014, after the White Sox signed him to 6 yr/$68 million dollar contract, Abreu showed that he belonged in the majors all along. Abreu was one of nine Cuban born players to make their debut in 2014, the first time such a large contingent debuted since the 1955 season, when eight Cuban nationals played in the majors.


National League Rookie of  the Year

DeGromJacob deGrom
W-L: 9-6
ERA: 2.69
SO: 144
WHIP: 1.14
New York Mets

It is easy to say, that I really did not see this one coming when the season started. Actually, deGrom was not even on the opening day roster and didn’t make his debut until May 15th.  He did earn his first major league victory on May 31st, with a 5-4 victory over the Philadelphia Phillies. In the first half of the season he finsihed 3-5, with four no-decisions, but had a masterful pitching performance two games prior to the All Star game, as he tossed seven shutout innings, striking 11, and allowing seven hits in seven innings for the victory over the Atlanta Braves. In the second half, he showed why he would become the unanimous winner of the award as he went 6-1.  Degrom is the first Mets player to win the award since Dwight Gooden did it in 1984.

American League Manager of the Year

Baltimore Orioles v Tampa Bay Rays

Buck Showalter
W-L: 96-66
POST: 3-4
EXP: 16 years
Baltimore Orioles

Buck Showalter has won this award in two other seasons, with the Texas Rangers in 2004 and the New York Yankees in 1994 and was the first Orioles manager to win since Davey Johnson took the honors in 1997. Showalter led the Orioles this season to the second best record in all of baseball and their first AL East Division Crown since Davey Johnson led his squad in 1997. In 2004 with the Rangers, Showalter took a last place club that finished 71-91 that season and turned it around and the team finished 89-74, just three games out of first.  Showalter will be returning for his 17th season as a manager and will try and lead the Orioles to another crown.

National League Manager of the Year

Matt Williamsmlb_u_williams_1296x729
W-L: 96-66
POST: 1-3
EXP: 1 years
Washington Nationals

In 2014, Matt Williams took over the helm for the Washington Nationals in his first season as a Major League manager and all he did was lead his club to a Division Crown. Williams, was a seven-time all star in his illustrious playing days, but now he has joined the ranks of the player turned into managers that have made the transition to the bench a success. Williams looks to lead his club to another crown with the hopes of reaching the World Series in 2015.



1 of 2

David Conde
%d bloggers like this: