Legends On Deck

A New World Baseball Showcase: 2015 WBSC Premier 12

wbsc premier 12

The 2015 WBSC Premier 12, created by the World Baseball Softball Confederation is a newly created baseball world championship to be held in Taiwan from November 8-21.

The International Baseball Federation (IBAF) and WBSC decided to create a new tournament, from a void once filled from the Baseball World Cup, which was abolished by the IBAF after 2011.

The current tournament, which is considered along with the Baseball World Classic, as a major world championship, will consist of teams from 12 countries.  The qualifications to enter the tournament was based on the WBSC world rankings through the end of 2014. This will only be the case for the inaugural season.

Only MLB players, with respective club approval, and that are not on their clubs 40-man roster, will be able to play in the tournament.

The games will be played in a round-robin format with teams divided into two groups (A,B) of six and a total of eight teams from the top four will advance to the quarter-final series.


The round robin games will be played in Taiwan and Japan with the final rounds in Japan’s Tokyo Dome.

Premier 12 with rankings
(click on country for rosters)
#1 Japan – Group B
#2 United States – Group B
#3 Cuba – Group A
#4 Chinese Taipei – Group A
#5 Netherlands – Group A
#6 Dominican Republic – Group B
#7 Canada – Group A
#8 South Korea – Group B
#9 Puerto Rico – Group A
#10 Venezuela – Group B
#11 Italy – Group A
#12 Mexico – Group B

David Conde
%d bloggers like this: