Legends On Deck

Dallas Keuchel And Jake Arrieta Win Cy Young

The Astros' Dallas Keuchel and Cubs' Jake Arrieta have been named the 2015 Cy Young Award Winners. (foxsports.com)

The Astros’ Dallas Keuchel and Cubs’ Jake Arrieta have been named the 2015 Cy Young Award Winners.

There were many outstanding pitching performances throughout the 2015 season. Whether it was a no-hitter, a perfect game or just dealing a gem, choosing just one pitcher in each league for the Cy Young Award was a difficult task and the one at hand.

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America, Cy Young Awards went to the Chicago Cubs Jake Arrieta for the National League and the Houston Astros’ Dallas Keuchel for the American League.

The 27-year-old Keuchel went 20-8 on the season with a 2.48 ERA and a 1.02 WHIP, going undefeated at Minute Maid Ballpark with a 15-0 record and a 1.46 ERA. The left-hander is just third Houston Astros’ pitcher to win the Cy Young (Mike Scott in 1986; Roger Clemens in 2004) but the first to win since the club joined the American League. Keuchel edged out David Price and Sonny Gray in the American League voting.

The 29-year-old Arrieta was 22-6 in 2015 with a 1.77 ERA and 0.87 WHIP, striking out 236 hitters in 229 innings. The second half of the season included a no-hitter for the right-hander and just a 0.75 ERA. Arrieta had seventeen first place votes over both LA Dodgers’ pitchers Zack Greinke and Clayton Kershaw. He is the first Chicago Cubs’ pitcher to win the Cy Young since 1992 when Greg Maddux won the honors.

The Chicago Cubs have racked up the hardware lately with Kris Bryant winning National League Rookie of the Year, Joe Maddon winning the National League Winner of the Year yesterday and now Arrieta, showing that this squad definitely has a bright future ahead of them.

Bethany Cohen
%d bloggers like this: