Legends On Deck

Players Choice Awards: Donaldson Wins Players Of The Year


The exciting time of the baseball season has arrived as we find out who are the top  players as they receive their deserving awards.

On Monday, the Players Choice Awards were revealed with Blue Jays Josh Donaldson winning the Player of the Year award, Astros Jose Altuve taking home the Majestic Athletic Always Game Award and the Orioles Adam Jones winning the Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award.

What is the Players Choice Awards, well here is an explanation from the Major League Baseball Players Association:

Major Leaguers recognize the on-field and off-field achievements of their peers through the Players Trust’s Players Choice Awards program. The players annually honor the outstanding player, rookie, pitcher and comeback player in each league. Two additional awards which bestow top honors without regard to league are the Player of the Year and the Marvin Miller Man of the Year, named for the founding executive director of the MLBPA and given to the player whose excellence on and off the field most inspire others to higher levels of achievement. Players Choice Award winners designate charities to receive grants totaling $260,000 from the Players Trust. To date, the Players Trust has recognized the outstanding on-field and off-field performances of Players Choice Awards winners by contributing more than $3.8 million to charities around the world.

The other Players Choice Awards:

American League
Josh Donaldson, Blue Jays – Outstanding Player
Dallas Keuchel, Astros – Outstanding Pitcher
Carlos Correa, Astros – Outstanding Rookie
Prince Fielder, Rangers – Comeback Player

National League
Bryce Harper, National – Outstanding Player
Zack Greinke, Dodgers – Outstanding Pitcher
Kris Bryant, Cubs – Outstanding Rookie
Matt Harvey, Mets – Comeback Player

Aside from the Players Choice Awards, MLB has also given out other awards to deserving players, here is a list below:

MLB Postseason Awards:
Salvador Perez, Royals – World Series MVP
Alcides Escobar, Royals – ALCS MVP
Daniel Murphy, Mets – NLCS MVP

MLB Reliever of the Year:
Andrew Miller, Yankees
Mark Melancon, Pirates

MLB Aaron Awards:
Josh Donaldson, Blue Jays
Bryce Harper, Nationals

MLB Clemente Award:
Andrew McCutchen, Pirates

Remaining MLB awards to still be revealed:
Rawlings Gold Glove Awards – November 10, 7 pm
Wilson Defensive Player of the Year – November 11, 6 pm
Louisville Silver Slugger Awards – November 12, 6 pm
Rookie of the Year Awards – November 16, 6 pm
Manager of the Year Awards – November 17, 6 pm
Cy Young Awards – November 18, 6 pm
MVP Awards – November 19, 6 pm
Outstanding Designated Hitter Award – December 1

David Conde
%d bloggers like this: