Connect with us


MiLB Embraces Tradition, Reinstitutes League Names

Great news out of Minor League Baseball yesterday, as they will return to traditional league names for the 2022 season!  Last season, I wrote a series of articles about the reshaping and restructuring of MiLB.

Apparently, I wasn’t the only fan to express disappointment with many of the changes.  MiLB has decided to restore the historical names of each league.  So here’s how it will work:

  • International League (Triple-A)
  • Pacific Coast League (Triple-A)
  • Eastern League (Double-A)
  • Southern League (Double-A)
  • Texas League (Double-A)
  • Midwest League (High-A)
  • Northwest League (High-A)
  • South Atlantic League (High-A)
  • California League (Single-A)
  • Carolina League (Single-A)
  • Florida State League (Single-A)

Legends on Deck is particularly excited about the return of the Florida State League.  We have spent years covering the league and highlighting their players.  MiLB Opening Day is April 5th!

Brian is the Managing Editor at Legends on Deck and Co-Host on Legends On Deck Podcast. He's been writing about baseball at LOD since 2017 and is a member of the Internet Baseball Writers Association.  He's lives in Horizon West, FL. You can also reach him at

More in Featured

%d bloggers like this: