Legends On Deck

Sunshine & Softball: The Takeover of D-1 Softball in Clearwater

The Eddie C. Moore Complex is going to be very busy for the next two weeks as the complex gets set for two massive D-1 collegiate softball invitationals.

Unlike last season, which only featured the acclaimed TaxAct Clearwater Invitational, the NFCA will also be getting in on the action as their D1 Leadoff Classic will be taking place this weekend, featuring teams out of major conferences such as the SEC, Big 12, Big Ten, etc.

Both events will feature 16 teams this season, with Indiana being the only program that will participate in both weekends.

The NFCA D1 Leadoff Classic will feature 10 major programs such as Louisville, Auburn, Kentucky, and Northwestern while also featuring some more mid-major programs such as Prairie View A&M, Southern, Howard, Fordham, and South Alabama, creating what should be a nice mix of high-level programs as well as programs that may not get as much attention.

However, the TaxAct Clearwater Invitational will be the equivalent of an early-season college world series. Next week, the TaxAct Clearwater Invitational will bring 15 other teams, as well as the already present Indiana, back to Eddie C. Moore to take part in one of the biggest events on the softball calendar.

The invitational will feature 13 major programs, including Texas A&M, Florida State, and even teams out west such as UCLA.

The event will only highlight three mid-major programs: USF, UCF, and a surprise addition, the UL Lafayette Rajun Cajuns.

When you combine all of this softball with the USF invitational, which is being held on campus in Tampa this weekend, you’re looking at nearly 40 college softball programs coming to the Bay Area to play high-level softball.

Here is the list of teams who will be participating for both weekends, and I will be covering both weekends, so stay tuned for content on my Twitter page, @micdupdspau:

NFCA D1 Leadoff Classic

Fordham (A-10)

Howard (MEAC)

Southern (SWAC)

Pittsburgh (ACC)

Louisville (ACC)

Kentucky (SEC)

Auburn (SEC)

Illinois (Big Ten)

Indiana (Big Ten)

Northwestern (Big Ten)

Texas (Big 12)

Tennessee (SEC)

Missouri (SEC)

South Alabama (Sun Belt)

St. Johns (Big East)

Prairie View A&M (SWAC)


TaxAct Clearwater Invitational 

Indiana (Big Ten)

Alabama (SEC)

Arizona (Pac-12)

Arkansas (SEC)

Duke (ACC)

Florida State (ACC)

Louisiana (Sun Belt)

Michigan (Big Ten)

Mississippi State (SEC)

Nebraska (Big Ten)

Oklahoma State (Big 12)

Texas A&M (SEC)

UCF (American)

USF (American)

UCLA (Pac-12)

Virgina Tech (ACC)



%d bloggers like this: